A Week of Kindness

July 24, 2009

Another week, pleasant dreamers, another game: Questions and Answers, another conversation-platformer that attempts to teach my QAYN gameplay in as natural a flow of tutorialisms as possible. This time I followed the advice of friend and consultant Kunal Gupta, who liked the one-button-at-a-time approach of Tutorial, but thought I ought to empower the player a bit more from the start. If my games are all about seeing conversations as battles, he pointed out, and Questions are the player’s means of attack, why was I starting them off with the purely-defensive Answers, instead?

Part of my motivation for this was because of how fond I am for games that start the player off at an extreme disadvantage. In Prince of Persia, the player begins without a sword, and must explore the trap-laden dungeon to find one before confronting the close-by guard. Traditionally, Metal Gear games begin by surrounding Snake with enemies, and only non-lethal weapons at his disposal, or none at all. Even the Super Mario games start the player off small and vulnerable. But what I missed from all those examples was the aspect of choice– none of those games force you to confront an enemy before you’re ready. And in the case of Kojima and Miyamoto’s games, the player may start out unarmed, but they aren’t entirely defenseless– Snake starts out with punches and kicks, while Mario always has his classic jump.

Therefore, Kunal was right– if I’m going to teach players how to use my conversation-controls, I have to arm them with the most powerful option first: Questions. That’s how this new game came about, and I’m pretty happy with the logical flow it carries. I believe the current build might even be 100 percent bug free, but I’m not crossing my fingers yet. Until next time, pleasant dreamers, never question the power of questions…

2 Responses to “A Week of Kindness”

  1. I’m playing on a Mac, and in both Firefox and Safari, when I get to the first conversation prompt (“space”) the game locks up — space doesn’t do anything, neither do the arrow keys. Is this maybe a Mac issue, or am I overlooking something basic?

    • Bob Clark said

      Try the control button, I think. I had to deal with this problem a while ago, so I know the game is playable on Macs. I am designing on a PC, however, so this doesn’t exactly surprise me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

