Sometimes, Reality is Too Complex for Oral Transmission

October 25, 2010

I suppose I should’ve mentioned some time ago, but a couple of my games have been featured over at the indie-review site Play This Thing. I only update my own blog rather infrequently, so obviously these things slip my grasp.

Anyways, I’m writing now both to add that mention (especially the rather cool appraisal from the site’s resident madman, Patrick “The 99th” Dugan, who said of my game “Convey Or” that I’m something like “Chris Crawford with a chaser of Red Bull” and thinks I’m a rampant misogynist), but also to post my latest game, a long-in-the-making experiment with my conversation system that is based, for some odd reason, on Jean-Luc Godard’s latest movie, which I saw twice during the New York Film Festival. Godard himself once said that the best way to review a film is to make one of your own, so perhaps I’ll use this format to review games in the future.

Aside from that, there’ll also be a couple of other updates in the coming week. I’ll have a game featured over at the Brooklyn location of Babycastles this Friday in the spirit of the upcoming Election, and another at the Manhattan branch for Halloween (that goes up on Thursday, however, apparently). I shan’t say any more than that at the moment, if for no other reason than this season always carries some natural nail-biting suspense with it thanks to both of the aforementioned occasions, and I always like to add to it in my own special way (also– they’re not actually finished yet). So until next time, pleasant dreamers, sleep tight and don’t let the Lincoln Center bed bugs bite…

5 Responses to “Sometimes, Reality is Too Complex for Oral Transmission”

  1. Stephen said

    Bob,

    I’m struggling a little with clicking at the right time on the right things. What I’ve managed to work through so far is excellent.

    I like the style of it – it looks to me as if they are in a cinema, standing in front of the screen. I must say it’s funny too. I certainly haven’t seen anything like it(!)

    I will come back when I’ve got a full handle on it.

  2. Bob Clark said

    Yeah, I figured this would be a toughie. Anyone who’s enough of a cinema buff to have already seen Godard’s latest film is probably unlikely to be well-versed in gaming, and is certainly not going to get my “conversation = Mega Man/Metroid charge-shot” style of gameplay. At the same time, most gamers probably don’t know Godard, and if they do, they certainly haven’t seen this one yet. I did this mostly as a test-balloon for the other games that I’m working on at the moment, a nice pressure-free zone that has paid off nicely. I do think I’ll try and do this for other films/games/reviewable things in the future.

    Thanks for checking it out!

  3. Stephen said

    Are there any other buttons I should be pressing except SPACE? I see “refill health” but I can’t click on it. Sorry if I’m being slow. I haven’t come across a game of this sort.

  4. Bob Clark said

    I always use the Control button, myself. It tends to work better for the press/hold to charge and release to speak system. The Spacebar is probably more expected for people, CTRL just operates a little easier, I think.

    The trouble with making new games is that there never are others of its sort. But hopefully the culture shock doesn’t last too long.

  5. [...] a shot. You can access it either by clicking the screenshot above or by simply going to my blog here. Oh, and remember to click on the SWF when it opens, and use the Control-Key for… well… [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

