Might As Well Jump

December 31, 2010

Just in time for the new year, I’ve finally made good on my long considered promise to return to writing pieces for Play This Thing by tackling one of the biggest indie releases of the past couple years, Adam Atomic’s “Canabalt”. Not content to stop there, however, I also decided to compare it directly to Tristan Perich’s “Killjet”, which might just be my favorite game of all the exhibits at Babycastles. But not content to quit while I was ahead even there, I made up my mind to further comment on both games in the form of a game myself, my long-developed and longer-tweaked one-button game “Talkpack”, which pairs my usual conversation battle-system with my newfound level memory algorithms, and a new jetpack function developed expressly for this game. It’s something I’d love to develop into a longer, larger game, something on the order of a one-button Metroidvania full of exploration and action of its own, but to an extent I think it’s fairly well developed and balanced as it is, with nothing more than spikes and momentum to wrangle as you fly about. I doubt anybody’ll make much fuss for this new work of mine, but at the very least I’m happy to have begun making games that criticize games in the same way that Godard talked about making truly cinematic film-criticism, albeit in a rather paltry, Flash-driven way. Until next time, pleasant dreamers, I’ll wish you all a Happy New Year, or at least a happier one than the last one we all had to sit through…

One Response to “Might As Well Jump”

  1. […] By and large, that’s what both Canabalt and Killjet do, and in some small way I hope that Talkpack does the same. At any rate, you can follow the link above to my own blog, and then to Play This […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

